10 Minute Tantrums: Part II

IMAG2997-01-01.jpeg

10 Minute Tantrums is Ed’s new series where he clears his head and gets it all out on paper (and then shares it with the world!) Check out his first tantrums here!

Pepper

An inhale of breath, then a sharp sneeze. A quick look of embarrassment, then again a turbulent exhale uncontrolled by it’s deliverer.

I feel a nervous flutter just above my diaphragm, and I remember her voice, soft and gentle, “I’m easy. Just remember I’m allergic to pepper.”….

One thing you had to remember, one thing! Cook a nice meal, play some romantic music and you were onto a winner but instead you’ve created a one girl woodwind section!

Now the warm fire feels uncomfortable as the heat starts to creep under my collar and trace it’s way down my spine. The antique chairs no longer seem nostalgic but instead coarse and uncomfortable to the touch.

That’ll teach me for trying to be suave. Next time we’re going Nandos.

Sandwich

Heavy breaths full of thick air that clings as it works it’s way down into my lungs. The woodpecker hammering on my head seems to disregard the three empty bottles of wine still yet to be cleaned on the table. Is wine still elegant if you drink it straight from the bottle?

The scent pervading the room seems better suited as an accompaniment with chips than as a drinkable product in it’s own right. All I can hear is the tap,tap, tap as my own heartbeat tries to break through my skull from the inside.

Two thick slices of freshly cut bread, a generous spread of mustard and enough mature cheddar to make vegans the world over weep silently into their pillows. Soft and spongy to the the touch it seems too substantial to be taken on by any one man. Challenge accepted!

The crunch of freshly snapped twigs, the heat of a winters radiator, and a delicate stream of dairy goodness. Nothing tastes this good unless you’ve had three hours sleep and feel as though your head is about to implode.

– – E.M. Wragg

E.M. Wragg hails from Essex, England. You can usually find him waxing poetic on the streets of London or at home watching movies with his dog. He’s currently working on his first children’s book.

We’ll have more of Ed’s Tantrums next week! What’s your writing process? Let us know what you’ve written or created lately and we’ll share it!

This entry was posted in 10 Minute Tantrums, Prose, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 10 Minute Tantrums: Part II

  1. Pingback: Ten Minute Tantrums: Dog | A Cat We Have

Leave a comment