A Poem Before I Go

beforeidie

Photo via Space Lab Project

I’ve been asked if I could try
To make a list of things to do before I die,
A request from a friend
Of things to do before I end,

But a simple thing to ask
Can create a complex task,
Which avenue to choose
And which to choose to lose,

Is it brave to dream big
And talk of fortune and success,
Or better to think small
And know that more can soon be less,

I want to be other people
Whether on stage or screen,
Yet to learn to be myself
Instead of a mutating submarine,

Writing is a passion
And to be published would be grand,
Yet if the stories were forgotten
That is something I could stand,

My bucket list reads ‘to create’
In what form I do not know,
Writing political melodies
Or creating sculptures in the snow,

In the end my list is small
But I think that it is fair,
I want to learn to be content
With who and what and where,

I don’t want to look beyond
(The irony fails to escape me)
I want to focus on the now
And embrace all its trivialities,

So drawing to conclusion
There are dreams that I hold true,
Passions newly discovered
And ones I always knew,

To complete them would be a feat
Something to do before I died,
But if I fall short of the finish line
It’s ok so long as I tried

–E.M.Wragg

E.M. Wragg hails from Essex, England. You can usually find him waxing poetic on the streets of London or at home watching movies with his dog. He’s currently in the midst of drawing 1000 stick figures for his next creative project.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Poem Before I Go

  1. Pingback: What Pocket Change Means to Me | A Cat We Have

Leave a Reply

