Ten Minute Tantrums

DSC_0897-01.jpeg

I’ve been reading recently that it’s not important what you write but that you write. If you only ever write when you have ideas you will never coax out those thoughts which lay dormant, hiding behind your anxieties. As a result I’ve decided to follow an exercise by Pat Pattinson from Writing Better Lyrics (an incredibly un-creative title for an incredibly creative writer).

The exercise is something called object writing and the idea is simple;

  1. Write everyday, particularly in the morning as a way to wake up your creative mind.

  2. Write about an object chosen completely at random. The object is unimportant all that is important is that you have a starting point.

  3. Write for 10 minutes and, most importantly, only 10 minutes. If at the end of 10 minutes you feel like you could do another 20 minutes don’t. Stop and save that for later or you’ll soon find the exercise a tiring task as you remember the marathon writing session you had on Tuesday morning.

  4. Don’t edit your work or delete anything. What seems rubbish now may seem like gold in 3 weeks.

  5. Focus on senses. Seven of them in fact. Sight, sound taste, smell, touch, intuition, and equilibrium. (Those last 2 may sound strange but think of it like this, you can feel afraid and you can feel upside down. These can’t be described using any of our other senses but they’re just as strong)

So for the last week I’ve done exactly that. Every morning, whether at home or on the train, I have sat down and given myself to my writing for a full 10 minutes. What I wrote is written for you to read below.

I must confess to at times stretching to 10 minutes 30 seconds due to my detest at not rounding off my work but, other than that and some spelling corrections, what you are about to read is exactly as wrote.

It varies from genre to genre, and my mind clearly has a habit of veering off the beaten track and only loosely talking about my topic, but I think that’s part of the charm.

I’ve even gone through and highlighted parts that I liked which I thought I could possibly use in the future whether within lyrics or stories.

Read, enjoy, beg, borrow, and steal if you wish but just make sure you write!

Puddle

Distorted ripples reflecting the stars. Somehow this fractured reality better represents present life than any lens or picture.

The smell of fresh rain running down my cheek draws memories of Autumn days and adventures long past. The rain isolates us. Everything around becomes a mirage, a projection with only us and the taste of your lips within.

The tapping of raindrops and crashing of tyres orchestrate the silence as we gaze into each other, and you see past the haze.

I wish I could save this moment. I wish I could capture your reflection in that puddle and hold it with me forever.

– – E.M. Wragg

E.M. Wragg hails from Essex, England. You can usually find him waxing poetic on the streets of London or at home watching movies with his dog. He’s currently working on his first children’s book.

Check back Thursday, March 23rd for more of Ed’s 10 Minute Tantrums! Written anything new lately yourself? Submit your poems, short stories, prose or tantrums to us!

This entry was posted in 10 Minute Tantrums, Prose, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ten Minute Tantrums

  1. Pingback: 10 Minute Tantrums: Part II | A Cat We Have

  2. Pingback: 10 Minute Tantrums: Coffee | A Cat We Have

  3. Pingback: Ten Minute Tantrums: Train | A Cat We Have

  4. Pingback: Ten Minute Tantrums: Dog | A Cat We Have

  5. Pingback: Submission Call | A Cat We Have

  6. Pingback: 10 Minute Tantrums: Guess The Subject! | A Cat We Have

Leave a Reply

