Pocket Change: April 9th to 15th

Pocket Change is our weekly round-up of creative events, fun links and books we love! Have something to add? Let us know. This is your space too!

Events

7_11YJrwMad Poets Speak is hosting an open mic/spoken word event.

When: Sunday, April 9th, 5pm to 7pm

Where: The Canvas Cafe, 42 Hanbury Street, London, E1 5JL

Free event!

*****************

magCxCitM_01_ticket_large.png

Photo via magCulture

Join magCulture as they team up with citizenM hotels to talk about travel writing and the travel magazines we all die to get our hands on. Talks will be given by the folks from Suitcase, Lodestars Anthology and N by Norwegian.

Psst! A second event is coming in May!

When: Wednesday, April 12th, 7pm to 8pm

Where: 40 Trinity Square, London, EC3N 4DJ

Tickets are only £6!

*****************

A morning bookbinding for beginners workshop at Drink, Shop & Do! Learn how to create and stitch a hard cover notebook, and then take it home with you. Great for beginners!

When: Saturday, April 15th, 10:30am – 1pm

Where: Drink, Shop & Do, 9 Caledonian Rd, Kings Cross, London, NW1 9DX

Grab a ticket! Materials included along with tea and cake (awful, right?)

*****************

Reading

images.jpg .:: I first read Alexandra Stoddard’s, You Are Your Choices several years ago during a particularly tough period where I was left questioning my creativity and whether my writing pursuits were worthy.

I found the book at my local library and for some reason it seemed to jump off the shelf at me. Always one to believe in signs, I took it home, devoured it, and then read it a second time to take notes. Thus began my foray into pairing ‘self help’ books with my creative endeavors.

This book is comprised of short chapters, usually that highlight a story, and a common sense how-to-help-yourself type tip. Chapters are titled like mantras: “Why Not Be Comfortable”, “Live From the Inside Out”, Celebrate Simple Ceremonies” and a personal favorite, “Information is Not Inspiration”.

It helped give me permission to continue my own creative work, and now I set the goodness free and pass it on to you!

– – Brittany Forbes

Disclosure: We don’t get any money if you click on the links we provide (although if someone wants to pay us, that’s cool). We genuinely love the events and links we post and want to share them with as many people as possible. The path to creativity should never be kept a secret!
This entry was posted in Events, Links, Pocket Change and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pocket Change: April 9th to 15th

  1. That book looks super interesting! Thank you for sharing it 🙂

    Like

    • acatwehave says:

      I’m glad you think so! It really helped me out and I find more wisdom each time I re-read it. If you’ve got any books that have helped you on your creative journey, feel free to submit them! Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

